A small but enthusiastic group from KCPS was at the Karori Arts Centre last night for the annual Wellington Interclub Print Battle.  Bruce Girdwood did an excellent job as guest judge, with a helpful constructive critique of each print.  That’s a hard thing to do when you’ve only just seen the prints and are in front of a partisan audience!

The way it works is that each print gets a score of 1 point for first, 2 points for second, and so on.  And then the lowest total for all ten print categories wins.

This picture tells the story – we blew away the competition with a total of 21 points.   Hutt Camera Club and Johnsonville Camera Club (formerly Aotearoa Philippines Photographic Society) came second equal with 34 points.



Here are the scores for the individual prints, and who they were from:

Category Score Print From
Abstract 2 Neil Gordon
Graffiti 2 Neil Gordon
Silhouette 2 Katrina Magill
Zoo Animals 3 Hugh Scott
Rocks 1 Rachel Stevens
Pattern and/or Texture 4 Dave Yockney
Multiple Exposure 1 Jo Goudsblom
Body Parts 2 Alison Viskovic
Hands 2 Shona Jaray
Rainy Days 2 Gavin Klee

So we had very consistent high scoring with many second places, and congratulations to Rachel and Jo for coming first with their prints.

At the end of the evening,  Karyn Crocker, President of KCPS, was presented with the trophy by Mark Robinson, the President of the Karori Camera Club who were the kind hosts on the night. She also received the “Wolf in the Snow Picture” – see http://wic.org.nz/prizes for the history of this.



It’s great to have “our” trophy back.  We donated the trophy when we hosted the event in 2008 and haven’t won it back since, although we have come second several times.   We last won ten years ago in 2007, as the Waikanae Camera Club.

Well done all!