KCPS rounded off another active year with the annual awards dinner, held at the Paraparaumu Golf Club. The presentations of the annual club awards for best overall salon results was topped off with the Best of Year competition judged by Chris Parkin.

The photographers who had most overall points across the four 2021 salons in each grade and category were:

TrophyWinnerRunner Up
Novice Combined Print & DigitalAni McManawayMalcolm Bayliss
Intermediate DigitalGraham LonsdaleIan Yeoman
Intermediate PrintIan YeomanEva Petro
Advanced DigitalJacky ChallisCarol Molineux
Advanced PrintCarol MolineuxGreg Whitfield

Congratulations to all the winners and runners up, and of course to the entire membership for creating such a great set of images over the year.

The highlight of the evening was the Best of Year competition, where club members submit their best print and digital image for commentary and ranking by the guest judge. In addition to deciding the winners and runners up, Chris included a few special mentions while delivering his comments:

  • Carol Molineux for “Dispute” – Print
  • Alison Viskovic for “Grey Power” – Print
  • Eva Petro for “Hellebore Triptych” – Digital
  • Neil Gordon for “Morning Shower” – Digital

And on to the winners and runners up:

Best of Year AwardPhotographerImage Title
Print WinnerDavid YockneyInto the Desert
Print Runner UpBarry CullingHeron Pair
Digital WinnerCarol MolineuxGodwits Return
Digital Runner UpGreg WhitfieldOffice Construction

The evening rounded off what has been a very active year for KCPS with field trips, salons, workshops, and a wider variety of speakers. Below are a few images from the night.